Sports Awards 2016 (Khel Ratna, Arjuna Awards, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awards)

Written by Ashis Dubey on Aug 24, 2016

Indian Government has announced Khel Ratna, Dhyan Chand, Dronacharya and Arjuna Awards for the year 2016. Check out complete list of sportsmen and sportswomen who won various awards exclusive for players of India.

With Rio Olympics coming to a happy ending, Indian Government has announced Sports awards 2016 today. Here is the complete list of players and coaches who bagged the awards.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards 2016

This year total four players are awarded Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award. Before the Rio Olympics event, the government has announced that players who win a medal will be conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award. Thus, PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik bagged the award automatically with their medal in Olympic games. Apart from PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik, Jitu Rai and Dipa Karmakar were also awarded the Khel Ratna for 2016.

Name PV Sindhu
Sports Badminton
Achievement Silver Medal in Rio Olympics
Name Sakshi Malik
Sports Wrestling
Achievement Bronze Medal in Rio Olympics
Name Dipa Karmakar
Sports Gymnastics
Achievement Fourth in Rio Olympics
Name Jitu Rai
Sports Shooting
Achievement Silver Medal in ISSF World Cup 2016, Gold Medal in 2014 Commonwealth and Asian Games

Dronacharya Awards 2016

Total six coaches are conferred with the Dronacharya Award for their excellent coaching and encouragement.

  • Nagapuri Ramesh - Athletics
  • Sagar mal Dhayal - Boxing
  • Raj Kumar Sharma - Cricket
  • Bishweshwar Nandi - Gymnastics
  • S Pradeep Kumar - Swimming
  • Mahabir Singh - Wrestling

Arjuna Awards 2016

16 players have bagged Arjuna Awards for the year 2016.

  • Rajat Chauhan - Archery
  • Lalita Babar - Athletics
  • Sourav Kothari - Billiards and Snookers
  • Shiva Thapa - Boxing
  • Ajinkya Rahane - Cricket
  • Subrata Paul - Football
  • Rani - Hockey
  • VR Raghunath - Hockey
  • Gurpreet Singh & Apurvi Chandela - Shooting
  • Soumyajit Ghosh - TT
  • Vinesh & Amit Kumar - Wrestling
  • Sandeep Singh - Para-athletics
  • Virender SIngh - Wrestling - deaf

Dhyan Chand Awards 2016

Total three persons conferred with the Dhyan Chand Awards 2016.

  • Satti Geetha - Athletics
  • Sylvanus Dung  - Hockey
  • Rajendra Pralhad Shelke - Rowing

Hope the awards will give boost to players who have bagged and will push to achieve more in thier field of sports.

No comments received yet. Be first to comment.

Please Login to write your comment.

Subscribe to our Email Newsletter