AFCAT syllabus

Written by Ashis Dubey on Jan 15, 2014

Check out AFCAT syllabus here. About to appear in AFCAT exam and want to know syllabus and type of questions asked? Read on to know about syllabus of AFCAT examination conducted by Indian Air Force.

AFCAT exam syllabus
Air Force Common Admission Test is held twice in a year by IAF in India. AFCAT is the only direct exam held by IAF to recruit officers. Graduates of BA, B Com, B Sc, MA, M Sc, M Com, MBA, BBA, BCA, MCA, B Tech, M Tech, BSc Biology, CA, ICWAI, LLB, and all other disciplines are eligible to apply for AFCAT exam.

Syllabus and questions asked in AFCAT exam is same for all candidates. Generally the questions of AFCAT are based on 10+2 level or lesser and facilitate better competition among all the aspirants.

Syllabus of AFCAT examination

AFCAT syllabus is divided into four parts. First part deals with general awareness. Second part of AFCAT syllabus consists of verbal ability questions of English. AFCAT third part questions are based on numerical ability. Last but not least, fourth part of AFCAT syllabus consists of reasoning and military aptitude test.

General Awareness 


  • History
  • Sports 
  • Geography
  • Environment
  • Civics, Basic Science
  • Defence
  • Art
  • Culture
  • Current Affairs
  • Politics 

Verbal Ability in English

  • Comprehension
  • Error Detection
  • Sentence Completion
  • Synonyms
  • Antonyms and Testing of Vocabulary

Numerical Ability

  • Decimal Fraction
  • Simplification
  • Average
  • Profit & loss
  • Percentage
  • Ratio & Proportion and 
  • Simple interest

Reasoning and Military Aptitude Test

  • Verbal Skills and 
  • Spatial Ability

Also read

No comments received yet. Be first to comment.

Please Login to write your comment.

Subscribe to our Email Newsletter